Reflection on Writing for the Web

This is an online course I did via Lynda.com, which I currently have free access to as a student at QUT University. I initially did it as it was recommended in one of my units: IFN620 Professional Practice. I now wish I had done it before I did a webpage design assignment for IFN616 Online Information Programs. Despite reading 1000s of webpages during my time on the internet, I had no idea  that writing for the web was so different from other types of writing. I feel I have mastered academic writing, reflective writing and report writing both during my professional life and whilst studying. Web writing requires the author to grab the reader’s attention in the first line. This means putting the most important part of the writing at the beginning. It is also a much more informal type of writing than academic writing and use of long words and jargon is discouraged. Hopefully, I’ll have further opportunities to put this into practice in my future career.

Leave a comment